The MOBOs’ Nomination List And Protests

Gay rights group Outrage! has asked the BBC to drop coverage of this year’s MOBOs unless two nominees for Best Reggae Artist are left out.

Outrage! has accused Elephant Man and Vybz Kartel of recording homophobic lyrics, although Vybz Kartel recently issued a statement saying that’s all in the past.

Acts like Norah Jones Jamie Cullum, Denys Baptiste, KebMo and Amy Winehouse who are all up for the Best Jazz Act. Estelle, Wiley, Alicia Keys, Brandy, 2Play, Ludacris, Outkast and more are up for various other nominations at the MOBOs. See the full list below.Best RnB act

Alicia Keys

Best hip hop act

Kanye West

Best video

Jamelia – See It In A Boy’s Eyes
Jay-Z – 99 Problems
Kanye West – All Falls Down
Kelis – Milkshake
Ludacris – Stand Up
Usher – Yeah

Best jazz act

Amy Winehouse
Denys Baptiste
Jamie Cullum
Norah Jones

Best reggae single

Elephant Man – Jook Gal
Sean Paul – Like Glue
Toots and The Maytals – True Love
Vybz Kartel – Picture This

Best producer

Kanye West
R Kelly
The Neptunes

Best world music act in association with

Angelique Kidjo – Sony
Bebel Gilberto – Atlantic
Cesaria Evora – BMG France
Youssou N’Dour – Atlantic
Daara J – Wrasse

Best collaboration

2Play ft. Raghav and Jucxi – So Confused
Brandy and Kanye West – Talk About Our Love
Marques Houston and Joe Budden – Clubbin’
Twista and Kanye West – Slow Jamz
Usher and Ludacris – Yeah

Best single in association with

Jamelia – Thank You – Parlophone
Kanye West – All Falls Down – Roc-A-Fella
Mario Winans – I Don’t Wanna Know – Bad Boy
Outkast – Hey Ya! – Arista/BMG
Usher – Burn – Arista/BMG

Best album

Alicia Keys – The Diary Of Alicia Keys
Jay-Z – Black Album
Joss Stone – Soul Sessions
Kanye West – College Dropout
Outkast -Speakerboxxx/The Love Below
Usher – Confessions

Best UK radio DJ

Ace and Invisible – 1Xtra
Gilles Peterson – Radio One
Jigs – Choice FM
Semtex – 1Xtra
Shortee Blitz and Big Ted – Kiss 100
Spoony – Radio One
Steve Sutherland – Galaxy
Tim Westwood – Radio One
Trevor Nelson – Radio One
Zane Lowe – Radio One

Best UK club DJ

Manny Norte
Matt White
Panjabi Hit Squad
Shortee Blitz
Steve Sutherland

UK act of the year

Amy Winehouse
Dizzee Rascal
Joss Stone
The Streets

Best UK newcomer

Gemma Fox

Best ringtone

Black Eyed Peas – Where Is The Love?
Eamon – F*** You
Mario Winans – I Don’t Wanna Know
Outkast – Hey Ya!
Usher – Yeah

Best gospel act

Fred Hammond
Michelle Williams
Raymond & Co

Outstanding achievement – to be announced

Lifetime achievement – to be announced

The awards, hosted by Pharrell Williams, will be held this Thursday, September 30 and highlights will be screened on BBC 1 on October 6.

Leave a Reply